September 10, 2024

Meeting of the Clayton County Board of Supervisors at 600 Gunder Road NE, Elkader, Iowa.

Present: Steve Doeppke, Ray Peterson, and Doug Reimer

Guests: Matt Sherman, Casey Stickfort, Linda Zuercher, Terry Puelz, Eric Franzen, Jenna Pollock, and Jennifer Garms.

Information Technology Director Matt Sherman provided a departmental update.

Reimer moved, Doeppke seconded to approve the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) wastewater permit for the Scenic Acres sewer lagoon. Ayes: Doeppke, Peterson, Reimer. Motion carried.

Reimer moved, Doeppke seconded to approve the meeting minutes for September 3, 2024. Ayes: Doeppke, Peterson, Reimer. Motion carried.

Doeppke moved, Reimer seconded to approve the claims as presented totaling \$149,368.31, including the addition of the wastewater permit fee. Ayes: Doeppke, Peterson, Reimer. Motion carried.

Reimer moved, Doeppke seconded to approve the semi-annual report of funds for the county as of June 30, 2024, as presented by Treasurer Linda Zuercher. Ayes: Doeppke, Peterson, Reimer. Motion carried.

Doeppke moved, Reimer seconded to appoint Torrie Moses as Monona Township Trustee due to the resignation of Allan Troester. Ayes: Doeppke, Peterson, Reimer. Motion carried.

Reimer moved, Doeppke seconded to approve resolution #34-2024 "Establishing a County Compensation Board". Roll Call Vote: Doeppke-aye, Peterson-aye, Reimer-aye. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION #34-2024 ESTABLISHING A COUNTY COMPENSATION BOARD

A resolution by Clayton County to establish a county compensation board as authorized by Iowa Code Section 331.905.

WHEREAS, pursuant to Iowa Code Section 331.905, as amended in 2024 by Senate File 2442, the county board of supervisors may vote to establish a county compensation board.

WHEREAS, pursuant to this same Code Section, when the board of supervisors establishes a county compensation board, the compensation board shall be comprised of seven members who are residents of the county. Two members shall be appointed by the board of supervisors, one member each by the county auditor, county attorney, county recorder, county treasurer, and county sheriff. The members of the county compensation board shall not be officers or employees of the state or a political subdivision of the state and shall serve staggered terms.

WHEREAS, the Clayton County Board of Supervisors, in consultation with other County elected officials, determined the duration for the initial staggered terms for members of the County Compensation Board to run based on the election years of the County Auditor, County Attorney, County Recorder, County Treasurer, and County Sheriff. The two Board of Supervisor members will serve staggered alternating terms from each other.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, Clayton County hereby establishes a county compensation board for the county.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Clayton County directs each of the elected officials to submit their respective appointments to the board of supervisors by November 30, 2024.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the representatives of the County Board of Supervisors (1 of 2), County Auditor and County Sheriff shall serve an initial term of four years and the representatives of County Board of Supervisors (2 of 2), County Treasurer, County Recorder and County Attorney shall serve an initial term of two years.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, this resolution shall apply retroactively to July 1, 2024.

The Board discussed the budget for the LP tank that fuels the generator at Osborne Nature Center.

/s/ Ray Peterson, Board of Supervisors Chair Attest: Jennifer Garms, Clayton County Auditor