School Election

School elections are held in September to elect school board members and community college directors. Instructional support levy measures are often included in school elections. School board elections used to be held every year. School elections cannot be combined with any other type of election. Many voters have a different polling place for school elections than for all other elections.

Some school districts in Clayton County are primarily located in other counties. Elections for each district are administered by one county, called the "control county." For information about other school boards or school elections for districts that include parts of Clayton County, please contact the following County Auditor's offices:
  • Edgewood-Colesburg School - Delaware County Auditor, Phone: 563-927-4701
  • Postville School - Allamakee County Auditor, Phone: 563-568-3522
  • Starmont School - Fayette County Auditor, Phone: 563-422-3497
  • Valley School - Fayette County Auditor, Phone: 563-422-3497
  • Western Dubuque School - Dubuque County Auditor, Phone: 563-589-4499

For additional information on school elections, please visit the Iowa Secretary of State Schools page.

Offices Positions on Ballot

The candidates that have filed are listed below with incumbents indicated by an asterisk (*). View Sample Ballots in the Archive Center.

Central Community School (Three Seats) Contested

  • Nicole Dennler
  • Kristin Fitzgerald *
  • Suzy Hilgerson
  • Michael J. Whittle

Clayton Ridge Community School (Four Seats) Contested

  • Christine Aulwes *
  • Sharon Cunningham
  • Alicia Helle
  • John Heying *
  • Ellen S Johnson

MFL MarMac Community School (Three Seats)

  • Sharon Greener *
  • Tonya Meyer *
  • Collin Stubbs

Northeast Iowa Community College

  • To be Determined